THE DARTMOOR LEAGUE CONSTITUTION

- 1 The League shall be known as the Dartmoor League.
- 2 The prime focus of the Dartmoor League is Better Ball Match Play. Home and away matches are played between the clubs in each league during the season. Other golfing activities within the League are the Summer Knock Out and various team competitions, all of which are played across all leagues.
- 3 Member clubs are: Bigbury, Boringdon Park, Bovey Castle, Dainton Park, Dartmouth, Downes Crediton, Elfordleigh, Exeter, Fingle Glen, Honiton, Okehampton, Sidmouth, Stover, Tavistock, Teign Valley, Thurlestone, Woodbury Park and Yelverton.
- 4 Any new club wishing to join the League should apply in writing prior to the AGM. Any new club joining the Dartmoor League will enter in League 3. The procedure for accommodating this will be that one team is demoted and two teams promoted through the three leagues (voted by Captains AGM Oct 23). The new club will be invited by the Captains to join the League at the AGM in readiness for full participation the following season.
- 5 Any existing club wishing to resign from the League shall do so in writing prior to the AGM.
- 6 No member club can be voted out of the League other than in the exceptional circumstances of persistent failure to complete their fixtures, or from wilful misconduct from any player(s) leading to official complaints by opposing clubs. Under such unlikely circumstances it will require a unanimous vote of exclusion from remaining clubs.
- 7 The Chairman and Secretary will be elected annually at the AGM/Autumn Meeting.
- 8 Mrs Sue Pearman will be the Honorary President, which is a "one-off" position. There will be no voting rights with this position.
- 9 The members clubs will meet two times per year, normally in March & October. Both meetings are normally held at a central venue. The Spring meeting is a briefing meeting to launch the season, distribute relevant current information, confirm the Fixture List and to discuss proposals for confirmation at the AGM. The AGM, also known as the Autumn Meeting is to review the season, formally propose appropriate amendments, confirm the structures of Leagues One, Two and Three and to discuss and agree any changes to the Constitution and Rules of the Dartmoor League.
- 10 Two representatives from each club may attend each meeting with one vote per club. In the event of equal voting, the status quo will prevail.

- 11 The Secretary will seek agenda items 6 weeks prior to each meeting, Any proposed changes to the Constitution or Rules must be circulated to members clubs with the agenda one month in advance of any meeting and will be passed by a majority vote.
- 12 The annual presentation of the Dartmoor League trophies will take place at a date convenient to the host club which will normally be at the end of October. The host club will be rotated between the winners of the three Leagues. No club shall host the event on two consecutive years. This day is known as Presentation Day which includes competing for the Dartmoor Challenge Shield, played for between all three Leagues. A buffet is offered to all Dartmoor League players prior to presentation of trophies.
- 13 The Dartmoor League will agree in advance with the host club a sum of money to be paid for use of the course, and, separately, the cost per head for the buffet.
- 14 All golfers playing on Presentation Day and supporters arriving for the buffet will be asked to contribute towards the cost of the buffet.
- 15 The Dartmoor League Trophy is the Peter Pearman Memorial Shield and will be presented to the winning club in League One. The Sue Pearman Salver will be presented to the winning club in League Two. The Dartmoor Slab will be presented to the winning club in League Three.
- 16 The Dartmoor League presents 15 engraved trophies to players in the winning clubs in the three Leagues. Any additional trophies are the responsibility of the club. Trophies are also presented to the winners of the Dartmoor League competitions held throughout the year.
- 17 The annual subscription to the Dartmoor League will be determined by member clubs at the AGM each year and will be payable by each club by 1st January the following year.
- 18 The secretary shall receive an annual payment of such amount as agreed by the member clubs at the AGM each year.

Constitution written 2000 1st revision 2006 2nd revision 2012 3rd revision 2014 4th revision 2017 5th revision 2019 6th revision 2021 7th revision 2024